RSS

All I’ve Got Is Twenty-One

31 Oct

 

When asked if I want to be a teacher or a researcher, I positively came back with ‘I want to be both’. YES, I  wanted to be mathematician who can also teach. And I got the job.

But the first semester of academic year 2012-2013 has got me thinking, do I really want what I am doing?

At the moment, I still don’t know the answer to such an unexpected follow-up. I’m already 21 and I still don’t have a picture of who I am really gonna be.

All I know is that since I started teaching, I am 21 things richer now.

  1. The first day of school is the biggest day. Break the barrier.
  2. Ice-breakers are my good conversation starters.
  3. Some students did not really learn maths in high school, they learned to memorize.
  4. The least I could do is to make a student not a math-hater.
  5. There are motivations in defining a thing. Make them think why things are the way they are.
  6. Teach them how to play by teaching them the basics first. Encourage self-discovery.
  7. Mortal sins in maths will always be committed, correct them anyway.
  8. Some students do nod even if they don’t understand a thing.
  9. That attendance is not important is a case-to-case basis.
  10. Never underestimate determination.
  11. That sleeping in class is okay is a case-to-case basis.
  12. Give good rewards and incentives. After all, grades don’t matter.
  13. There will always be classes that you will love and classes that you will each time hate, but always wear a smile.
  14. Encourage them to consult, they won’t do it anyway.
  15. There are students who are better than the teacher. Most of them think they are, rarely some of them are really are.
  16. Failing your students is emotionally challenging but harder is to pass them with you knowing that they learned nothing.
  17. Studying while teaching makes you understand your students better.
  18. There is such a thing as mathematical maturity.
  19. What is easy for you can be the hardest thing for students
  20. The teacher is not always the teacher. He also learns from his students and from his discussions.
  21. It is difficult to end a semester.

It’s not really bad after all. I learned new things, I made new friends, and hopefully I touched new lives. But then again, do I belong to the academe? 😦

Yours Truly,
Random Choice

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 31, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “All I’ve Got Is Twenty-One

  1. Alvin

    November 2, 2012 at 4:19 am

    “Some students do nod even if they don’t understand a thing.”
    haha. just like me!

     
  2. dental braces

    January 13, 2013 at 4:55 am

    To end a semester.. it is difficult to you but you must. Some students want the end of their math subjects, because it is very hard to understand. Just like me! Hehehe -mathematical immature :p

     
  3. csixtee

    December 6, 2014 at 5:15 pm

    “Never underestimate determination” 🙂 Agree, sir!!! 😀 Thank you po sa unang sem namin na kayo po ang kasama.. 😀

     
  4. JustAnotherUPStudent

    September 11, 2016 at 2:27 pm

    Sir, sana maging prof ko din kayo 😦

     

Leave a Reply

 
